葛吉夫

乔治•葛捷夫是乔治•葛吉夫是二十世纪最有影响的灵性导师之一,他早年参与寻找古老教学,这些经历被部分地记录在「与奇人相遇」一书中。他的探索引领他找到一个秘密的兄弟会,他看起来由此获得了一个独特的系统。

在1910年,葛吉夫将系统带到了俄国,他将东方的知识和经验,以二十世纪西方人可理解的语言阐释。他称他的教学为"第四道",相对于传统的苦行僧,僧侣和瑜伽的道路。布尔什维克革命和一次世界大战迫使他逃离俄国,最终定居法国,并开办了"人的和谐发展机构"。葛吉夫的影响发展到欧洲和美国,但是恶化的社会秩序和二次世界大战阻止了他继续完善机构,他被迫关闭了它,倾注余生写书:「生命为真,只当我在」,「万有一切」,「与奇人相遇」和「魔鬼讲给孙子的故事」。1949年10月29日,葛吉夫在巴黎去世。

Gurdjieff Angkor Wat Temple

吴哥窟寺庙

葛吉夫对于他教学的来源很慎重,他觉得没有必要揭示他找到系统的过程。他提到,战争断绝了他和接触过的学校的联系。还有,系统不是为了学术研究,而是为将知识转化为实践。葛吉夫自己付出很多,获取了他的教学体系,其他人必须付出,才能获取应用系统工作自己的权利。知识可以被给予,而智慧只能被赢得。葛吉夫牺牲了很多才获得智慧,除非他人有所付出,他不愿白白给予。一个人一旦争取到了,他才真正拥有这体系,他自身成为葛吉夫发掘到的古老体系 —— 一个以现代形式所阐释的永恒真理。

本网站是上述形式的一种尝试,一个孕育中的"时代方舟"的故事,一部小说凝注了作者对智慧的追寻(请阅读关于作者阿萨夫的介绍)。智慧与获取它的过程是一体的,作者发现以故事形式表述他的经验是必要的。通过一系列不寻常的经历,他看到了古老体系遗迹的片段,与葛吉夫所阐释的第四道体系同出一辙。

作者取书名为「时代方舟」,意指抽象化的方舟,跨越时代而保存智慧的媒介。这媒介确保古老智慧经历人类文明的兴衰而长存,就像一系列动荡事件的主线。在不同时代,方舟转化自身,以适应于当时的形式而显现。它借助于代理人的帮助,将其影响再现。这古老智慧在不同时代的表现形式,构成了伟大的方舟,从人类文明的起始点,一直远航到当代。

葛吉夫的使命

Gurdjieff Megistis Lavra

阿索斯山 Megistis Lavra 修道院

葛吉夫是伟大的方舟在二十世纪的代理人,他向周围的人表述过他的使命。不仅仅是他的追随者,对于那些在他直接影响之外的人们,他是一项伟大计划的代理人。葛吉夫年轻时,这份使命感就在他“寻找奇迹”的旅程中反映出,他旅行到希腊,埃及西部,阿富汗,西藏东部。从1910年开始,这使命感成为对教学机构的远见,这在1917年被命名为“人的和谐发展”的教学机构。从1912年起,葛吉夫将建立教学机构设为首要任务,直到他在法国遇到车祸,继而关闭了他的机构。他的使命感,进而转移到写书,三卷本的「万有一切」,以及对团体的准备,在欧洲和美洲,准备那些接受他著作的人们。在1925年以后,他试图以文字表现长期的实践,他相信他的著作最终被大众所理解。

葛吉夫的“探索”时期和创建教学机构时期的转折点,似乎是在他遇到萨尔蒙兄弟会期间(阿富汗北部的印度库什山脉)。从1899到1900年间,他获准进入萨尔蒙的中心修道院,很可能他在1906至1907年间又呆了较长时间。1907年底,葛吉夫去了塔什肯特练习治疗,这期间他戒了毒瘾和醺酒的习惯,即作为研究认同状态的一种方式,也是一种谋生的手段,这是他为开始教学所做的最后准备。18个月后,他开始招募学生,在1912年,他离开塔什肯特来到了莫斯科,开始为创建机构而募集人手。看来,葛吉夫在萨尔蒙兄弟会的经验,将他从一个“探寻者”转化为知识的拥有者,并准备好去传授。

葛吉夫的知识来源

Gurdjieff-Labrong-Monastery

藏区拉卜楞寺

萨尔蒙兄弟会的渊源已经无从考证,有记载它曾存在于巴比伦的汉谟拉比时期。萨尔蒙的文字含义是“蜜蜂”,据说萨尔蒙兄弟会的教学体系可以追朔到大洪水以前的时代。这里,我们又涉及到方舟的象征,也许,根本没有过大洪水,萨尔蒙用它来指代他们在时间长河中保有古老知识方舟的责任。他们传授的是客观的知识,一种可以像蜂蜜般被收集储藏的客观实在。很显然,萨尔蒙兄弟会有人类周期性的毁灭和兴起的记忆,他们确信其传统代表永恒不变的智慧核心,人类应该总有机会接触。在历史上的关键时刻,萨尔蒙将“蜂蜜”由特别培训过的代理人传播到世界各处。约翰•贝内特觉得九宫图的符号,七律等知识,来源于萨尔蒙兄弟会。葛吉夫提到过,他的许多神圣舞蹈来源于此。

大约在1500年后,萨尔蒙兄弟会与纳什邦迪苏菲教派联系到一起。纳什邦迪苏菲的工作方式与第四道类似,不教条化,他们的工作总是与实现特殊的历史使命相关,他们从事于表演。虽然纳什邦迪苏菲教派与萨尔蒙兄弟会是不同的组织,但纳什邦迪的部分导师与萨尔蒙有关联。看来,萨尔蒙把他们的部份知识传给了最好的纳什邦迪大师。我们在纳什邦迪苏菲体系中,发现了“人类内圈”和“天体层次”的概念,很可能得自萨尔蒙兄弟会。葛吉夫曾与特克什的纳什邦迪苏菲呆过一段时间。

葛吉夫的老师

在法国Preiure和后来的巴黎期间,葛吉夫告诉过几个学生,他有过一个老师。在他自己生活的转折期,他说过他在作出最后决定前请教了顾问。

(第三系列,78到79页)“我要告诉你,多年前,在机构创建前,当我起草详细计划,有些问题,我不得不向可敬的人寻求建议,他们已经生活了两个世纪。”

(第三系列,43页)葛吉夫提到,在车祸后,他考虑把工作重点转到写作,他花费了大量时间“写信向我所敬慕的朋友们咨询”。接下来,他确定了以后的工作目标,“感谢来自一个我极其敬仰的人的真知灼见”。

约翰•贝内特声称,葛吉夫不止一次说过,他能够拜访那些了解他工作重要性的人们。此外,有证据表明,葛吉夫在生活的关键时刻,曾短期去过小亚细亚地区,即使在他生命的晚期。(在1919年后,他的家庭成员已离开了那个地区)

葛吉夫的机构

葛吉夫的远见

关于机构的预见可能出自萨尔蒙兄弟会,葛吉夫在某种程度上是他们的代理。葛吉夫从未将自己表现为伟大的导师(对他来说,这很容易做到),而不过是一项使命的执行人。萨尔蒙大概预见到他们的传统会终结,他们有目标,将东方的古老智慧传播到西方,在那里力量远超越了素质。

葛吉夫的目标

Chateau Fontaines

根据他自传性的趣闻,葛吉夫在决定放弃他的特异能力期间,确认了内在目的,那是1902,在他在西藏第二次被流弹击伤之后。在第三系列的著述中,他描述他的誓言,把保持记得自己的状态作为他能达到的最高状态。可以说,在那之后,葛吉夫清楚地知道他的内在使命。从上述的引述,很可能萨尔蒙兄弟会给了他外在的使命—— 创建教学机构。

不论实情如何,我们知道17年后,在1924年,葛吉夫正式解散了机构。在1928年,他进一步迫使许多他亲近的学生离开。葛吉夫觉得他为教学机构作出了力所能及的努力,在经过请教“一个极其敬仰的人”后,他确认了新的目标。1935年,葛吉夫搬到了在巴黎的公寓,在那里继续他后期的教学。他认识到他不是新秩序的执行者,从而把工作重点转到了他的追随者,期望他们将把教学带到下一代。

“When I realized that [ancient wisdom] … had been handed down … from generation to generation for thousands of years, and yet had reached our day almost unchanged …. I … regretted having begun too late to give the legends of antiquity the immense significance that I now understand that they really have.” – George Gurdjieff

This site is an experiment in continuing where Gurdjieff left off.  Applying his practical methods of self-development and the wisdom of the ancients, we deepen our understanding of ourselves and continue the legacy of our ancestors.

Distortion always threatens understanding. Each age builds arks to preserve their wisdom through the floods of time. What would the ark of our age look like?

Tether your craft to ours and let us set sail.

Introducing George Gurdjieff

George GurdjieffGeorge Ivanovich Gurdjieff was one of the most influential spiritual teachers of the twentieth century. In his early years, he participated in expeditions that went in search of ancient teachings, partly documented in his book Meetings with Remarkable Men. His quest led him to a secret brotherhood,  from which he seemed to have returned in possession of a unique system.

In 1910, Gurdjieff imported that system to Russia. He translated his eastern knowledge and experience into a language palatable to twentieth century western man. He called his discipline the “Fourth Way,” a blend of the three traditional ways of the Fakir, the Monk and the Yogi (read more about the Fourth Way). However, the Bolshevik Revolution and the first World War forced Gurdjieff to migrate and eventually end up in France, where he opened his “Institute for the Harmonious Development of Man.” Gurdjieff’s influence extended throughout Europe and as far as America, but the declining social order and World War II prevented him from further formalizing his organization. He was forced to close the institute and spent the latter part of his life writing books: Life Is Real Only Then, When ‘I Am’, All and Everything, Meetings With Remarkable Men and Beelzebub’s Tales to his Grandson. He died in France on October 29, 1949.

Gurdjieff Angkor Wat Temple

Angkor Wat Temple

Gurdjieff was discreet about the origins of his teaching. He felt no need to reveal his footsteps. For one, he claimed that the wars had obliterated any traces of the schools with which he had come in contact. Moreover, his teaching specifically called, not for academical study, but for turning knowledge into practice. Gurdjieff himself had labored to acquire his teaching and had earned, so to speak, the rights over it. Such rights had to be earned anew by anyone meeting his work for the first time. While knowledge could be given, wisdom had to be earned. Hence, Gurdjieff, who had sacrificed much to obtain his wisdom, was reluctant to hand it over to others except at the price of labor. Once earned by any individual, the knowledge would become his own; he himself would become those ancient truths Gurdjieff allegedly dug up, a reiteration of ancient wisdom, a contemporary expression of a timeless truth.

Gurdjieff – The Mission

Gurdjieff Megistis Lavra

Megistis Lavra Monastery, Mount Athos

Gurdjieff conveyed to those around him the sense of a mission. It seemed, not only to his own students, but even to people outside his direct circle of influence, that he was the agent of a great plan. In his youth this sense of purpose radiated from his ‘search for the miraculous’ which drove him to travel to Greece and Egypt in the West, to Afghanistan and Tibet in the East. Beginning from about 1910 this same sense of purpose became connected to the vision of the Institute, which in 1917 received its full name: The Institute for the Harmonious Development of Man. From 1912 on Mr. Gurdjieff placed the aim of the creation of the Institute before every other practical aim, up until the time of his car accident and the closing of the Prieure. His sense of mission was then transferred to his writing (the three volumes of All and Everything) and to the preparation of groups of people, in Europe and America, capable of preparing people to receive those writings. After 1925 he was trying to put into words what he had hoped to realise in action, and he believed that his writings would eventually be read and understood by a wide audience.

The turning point between Gurdjieff’s ‘search’ period and the period in which he was focussed on the creation of the Institute seems to come just after the time he spent with the Sarmoun Brotherhood in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Northern Afghanistan. He first gained access to the central Sarmoun monastery in 1899-1900 and it appears likely that he had a more extended stay in 1906-1907. At the end of 1907 Gurdjieff went to Tashkent to practice healing. There he cured drug addicts and alcoholics, both as a means of studying the state of identification and as a means of making money. This was his last preparation for teaching. After about 18 months he began to draw students to himself and then, in 1912, left Tashkent for Moscow where he began to recruit candidates for the Institute. It appears, then, that Gurdjieff’s experience with the Sarmoun Brotherhood transformed him from a ‘seeker’ to one who had ‘found’ and was ready to impart.

Gurdjieff – The Origins

Gurdjieff-Labrong-Monastery

Labrong Monastery, Greater Tibet

While the origin of the Sarmoun Brotherhood is lost in the mists of time, there are traces of the Sarmoun in Babylon from the time of Hammurabi. The word Sarmoun itself means ‘bee’. The Sarmouni (the bees) were reputed to have teachings which pre-dated the Flood. We here again encounter the Ark metaphor, and it is certainly possible that there never was a physical flood and that the Sarmoun were referring to their responsibility of maintaining the Ark of Ancient Wisdom through the floods of time. They taught that objective knowledge is a material substance that can be collected and stored like honey. The Sarmoun Brotherhood apparently had memory of the periodic destructions and renewals of humanity, and they believed their tradition represented an eternal unchanging core of wisdom to which mankind should always have access. At critical junctures in history, the Sarmoun distributed their ‘honey’ throughout the world by means of specially trained agents. John Bennett felt that the symbol of the enneagram, the knowledge of the law of seven, and the doctrine of reciprocal maintenance came from the Sarmoun Brotherhood. Mr. Gurdjieff suggested that many of his sacred dances came from the Sarmoun.

Some time after 1500 the Sarmoun became connected to the Naqshbandi Sufi tradition. The Naqshbandi Sufis worked in a ‘fourth way’ style: they were quite undogmatic, and their work was always connected to fulfilling particular historical tasks. While the Naqshbandi Sufis and the Sarmoun were not one organisation, individual Naqshbandi teachers were probably associated with the Sarmoun Brotherhood. It seems likely that the Sarmoun inseminated the best of the Naqshbandi teachers with some of their understandings. We find the idea of the ‘celestial hierarchy’ or ‘inner circle of humanity’ in the Naqshbandi Sufis, which likely derives from their connection to the Sarmoun Brotherhood. Gurdjieff is known to have spent time in the tekkes of the Naqshbandi Sufis.

The Teachers of Gurdjieff

At the Preiure, and later in Paris, Gurdjieff told several of his students, quite directly, that he himself had a teacher. At turning points in his own life he says that he consulted advisors before making a final decision:

(Third Series, p 78-79) “I must tell you that, many years ago, before the organization of the Institute, when I planned and worked out this program in detail … I had to … address myself for advice and direction concerning several questions to honourable and impartial people … who … had already overcome two centuries of their existence and some of whom were bold enough to hope to surmount even the third century … “
(Third Series, p 43) Gurdjieff tells us that when, after the accident, he considered shifting from teaching to writing he spent long hours “writing letters of inquiry to some of my friends whom I respect”. His aims for the following period were established … “thanks to the wise advice from one of my oldest friends, a very respected person”.

John Bennett claims that Gurdjieff said, more than once, that he was able to call on people who knew the importance of his task. Beyond this, there is some evidence that Gurdjieff returned to Asia Minor for short visits at critical points during his life, and we know that he had regular correspondence with people that area, even into his last years. (He had no family there after 1919)

Gurdjieff’s Institute

Gurdjieff’s Vision

It is possible that the vision of the Institute came from the Sarmoun and that to some extent Gurdjieff was their agent. Gurdjieff never presented himself as a great teacher (which he could easily have done) but as an agent with a mission. The Sarmoun probably knew the end of their cycle was coming. The government of Kemal Ataturk in Turkey and the Soviet Governments in Russia and Afghanistan were making it impossible for them to continue. Perhaps the Sarmoun, seeing the end of their tradition, had the aim of conveying the wisdom of the East to the precocious civilisation of the West, where powers had so greatly outstripped being.

Gurdjieff’s Aim

Chateau FontainesAccording to his autobiographical anecdotes, Gurdjief’s internal aims had crystallized by the time he took the aim to foreswear his powers, after he was hit by the 2nd stray bullet in Tibet in 1902. In describing his oath in the Third Series he clearly defines sustaining self remembering as the highest function he could attain to. We could say, therefore, that for this time Gurdjieff was clear about his ‘internal’ mission. From what was quoted above it seems possible that he acquired his ‘external’ mission – the creation of the Institute – in his second stay with the Sarmoun.

Whatever the case, we know that seventeen years later, in 1924, Gurdjieff officially disbanded the Institute. In 1928 he went further by pushing away many of the students of his own inner circle. Mr. Gurdjieff felt that he had done what was possible in relation to the aim of the Institute, and in consultation with ‘a very respected person’, he set new aims for himself. In 1935, Gurdjieff moved to an apartment in Paris on Rue des Colonels Reynard where the last stage of his teaching was to follow. Gurdjieff had seen that he was not the vehicle for the new order and he focussed on his followers, that they might carry the teaching on to the next generation.


Further Reading:

Read the Introductory Post: Pre-Sand Gurdjieff

Gurdjieff Books

Ancient Wisdom

Gurdjieff Teaching

Fourth Way